Christina Heaston

Where are you?

Posted in Uncategorized by christinaheaston on August 5, 2009

Last week was full speed with barely any time to breathe-which is unfortunate, because I love to breathe.  All I wanted to do was get home in time to lay on my dock and watch the sunset. Isn’t is strange how comfortable wood can seem? If only it is under the setting sun and slightly sways with the waves below-is it not still wood? Hard and awkward? Yet somehow, the simple idea of laying across multiple pieces of wood couldn’t be more appealing to my heart’s ache.  So, I did just that. I don’t believe I’ve ever loved a sunset as much as I did last night. I stayed until the sky was so dark I couldn’t see the words on the page in front of me, but the stars told an alluring story and I’ve grown quite fond of my love-making neighbors, the cicadas.

dock! (2 of 1)
hallelujah.

Tagged with: , , , , ,

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. jmcdougall said, on August 5, 2009 at 12:41 pm

    man I love those cicadas

  2. Rachel said, on August 6, 2009 at 6:27 pm

    iphone? huh?? yes?

  3. artgrey said, on August 7, 2009 at 8:54 am

    The cicadas, they scare the bejeesus out of me. Cicada

    For reasons unknown, I can’t recall whether or not the city lights interfere with your view of the stars. I’ve been trying to find places that will allow you to see the night sky like this.
    Nighty Sky

  4. christinaheaston said, on August 7, 2009 at 1:03 pm

    @Rachel: Luke said if i wait til the end of the month, i can be on their family plan:) Its going to be the longest 16 days of my life!

    @ Charles: cicadas are for listening-not looking.
    Also, I imagine there are many many things you don’t recall about times on my dock….hmmmmmmm-but lucky for you, I remember oh so clearly and won’t hesitate to inform you about birthmarks and boats. Yes, birthmarks and boats.

    PS Hyperlinking is so trendy right now:)

  5. artgrey said, on August 10, 2009 at 11:20 am

    I’ve also heard that people enjoy clip art…

  6. artgrey said, on August 10, 2009 at 11:21 am

    Oh embed function, you have made a fool of me…


Leave a Reply

