Christina Heaston

Your love is seventy.

Posted in Uncategorized by christinaheaston on November 2, 2009

My grandparents celebrated their 70th Anniversary and I think that is just insane (for lack of a more romantic or celebratory word.)

Can you imagine liking the same person for 70 years?
I can’t. I tried.

I tried to think about the longest I’ve ever liked a boy and I think it was in the 12th grade. I liked the same boy for 8 months. 8 whole months. And I thought I deserved a medal or something for hanging on to a feeling so long. Not that it was hard to like him-he never came to my house without a handful of flowers…granted, these were flowers he picked out of his grandmothers garden-and I’m sure she did not appreciate it, but I did. I remember he was just learning to play the guitar so he would write me songs and strum all 2 chords he knew.  I didn’t even care that the lyrics were obvious rip-offs.  Okay, that’s not true. I did care. I cared a lot. I just didn’t know how much I cared until later. If I could go back in time I would say “Sweetheart, you know that I listen to David Grey too, right?”

Anyways, my grandparents have been married for 70 years.
I think they are just precious.
And they still love each other…
or maybe it would just be too much of a hassle to divorce at the age of 89 and neither of them have experienced the wonderful joys of the world wide web so eharmony is just out of the question.
Plus I think they got a lot of gift cards to fancy restaurants.

Happy Anniversary to two people I could like for 70 years!

70th Anniversary (1 of 1)

70th Anniversary1 (1 of 1)

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. jmcdougall said, on November 4, 2009 at 12:27 pm

    they are so cute. an perfect role models. and it’s sad I don’t think I’ll be able to say ive been married for 70 years. unless I live to be 100. Charis and Luke did it right. if only I had gotten married when I was 19 or 20…. ha

    • christinaheaston said, on November 4, 2009 at 4:17 pm

      I plan on living to be 103. The key is to marry someone who is likely to live as long as you…Don’t settle for a man who doesn’t take vitamins!


Leave a Reply

