Christina Heaston

Thanksgiving 2009.

Posted in Uncategorized by christinaheaston on November 29, 2009

Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday (besides Christmas & Halloween & New Years…I have a lot of favorites-so what?) It’s always more fun to experience your favorite things with people who are experiencing them for the first time.

This is Yizhu. She is from Yueyang, China.

This is Yiqian. She is from Nanjing, China.

They are both students at USC and I met them through Midtown Fellowship.  I’m so glad I got to be a part of their first Thanksgiving! They went with me to visit my family in Greenville, Greer, and Iva SC


This is L. Bowes.  She is from Pittsburgh, PA.
L. Bowes spent Thanksgiving 08 with my family and came back for more this year.  The only difference is L. Bowes doesn’t get to be the first in line and if she wants something to drink, she has to get it herself and most importantly, she doesn’t get a comfy bed like most guests-she has to sleep on the air mattress with me.  This is because she is no longer a guest in the Heaston household, she is just part of the family.

Oh yeah, and that is me. I was an Indian Native American for Thanksgiving. duh. (I think we should dress up for every holiday.)

The four of us spent this Thanksgiving teaching and learning from each other.
Yizhu and Yiqian taught us how to say important things like “I am single” “You are cute” and “Hey pretty baby” in Chinese.  Lindsey and I taught them the rules of shotgun, the difference between “red-handed” and “green-thumb”  and of course, introduced them to the wonderful world of wordpress.com

My sister asked them “Do ya’ll have dogs in China?” (this would be less embarrassing if my sister wasn’t 26 years old.)

Tonight, I asked Yiqian what her favorite part about Thanksgiving was?

“I love that night in the farm when we all sat downstairs and watched movie and played our computers and ate dessert and everyone just sat together.  I really like that. I felt part of family.”

That was my favorite part too:)

Happy Thanksgiving!

Tagged with: , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Rachel Halsey said, on November 30, 2009 at 9:26 am

    i love these!!! thanksgiving was beautiful 🙂

  2. jmcdougall said, on November 30, 2009 at 11:42 pm

    this is charis.. idk why jessica is signed in on my laptop.. but

    i just wanted to say.. the part where she said she felt like a family.. made me cry a little bit.

    im being serious.


Leave a Reply

