Christina Heaston

Merry Christmas.

Posted in Uncategorized by christinaheaston on December 25, 2009

And just like that, it’s over.

I just want to say that I think that I am blessed with the greatest family in the entire world. I will never tire of the chaotic holidays with them.  I feel like I’ve been smiling non-stop since Wednesday night when I arrived at my parents house. I’m overwhelmed by the people I have in my life- I don’t deserve any of this, yet my cup runneth over.

Today was my sweet niece, Ava’s very first Christmas. She is so beautiful.

Is it just my family, or does everyone sing questions in the tune of “Carol of the Bells” on Christmas day?
As I type this my brother is singing “Where’s the remote, Where’s the remote, Who had it last, Who had it last.”

Okay, so can we just talk about how amazing my mother is? Seriously. She is the best thing. Flawless. But I won’t lie to you, her fascination with Sarah Palin freaks me out.  (Also, please note her Dave Ramsey t-shirt.)

My precious little sister wrote me the sweetest Christmas note that makes me want to be woman she thinks I already am.

Grandpa & Grandpa are so cute. We drove around the neighborhood Christmas Eve night and looked at Christmas lights.  The house owners that didn’t decorate, my grandma referred to as scrooges… grandpa had a much more logical explanation: If you don’t have Christmas lights on your house, you’re an atheist.


During our family gift exchange, my grandpa announced “All the married couples get a ham”. (I know, its weird. They are weird. Everything about my family is weird.) He proceeded to hand out the hams. I don’t like ham. I don’t want a ham. But I am slightly offended that my grandpa assumes single people don’t deserve a ham…c’mon, at least half a ham? Am I right? I voice my opinion which is quickly brushed off.  At the end of the festivities when we are all saying our goodbyes, my grandpa grabs my right hand and looks me in the eye and with the most serious of faces says  “If you get married by next Christmas, I will give you a ham.”

Well, if that isn’t incentive enough then  I just don’t know what is.

This is me at 7:30am…my husband has a lot to look forward to. I mean, waking up to that hair PLUS a Christmas ham. LUCKY GUY!

Will laying on the living room floor watching Christmas Vacation with the whole family ever get old?
No. The correct answer is no.

We ended the night just as you should any holiday, with coffee, hot tea, and an overly competitive game of Apples to Apples.

This photo makes me laugh because it appears that mom is so content with her hand, meanwhile, Ava is screaming her head off.


I didn’t take enough pictures today-it was pretty chaotic. But fortunately for me, Christmas continues tomorrow.

Stay tuned for Christmas 2009-Part 3: Iva, SC

Merry Christmas!

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. jane said, on December 29, 2009 at 11:08 am

    i think
    no, wait
    i know
    this is the single best blog post
    ever.

  2. Rachel said, on December 29, 2009 at 9:52 pm

    1. Your mom’s Dave Ramsey shirt.
    2. The pic of your mom with screaming Ava

  3. xoxo3three said, on December 29, 2009 at 11:42 pm

    The pic of your mom with screaming Ava…lol
    i miss your big family..^_^


Leave a Reply

